OP Structure

OP’s structure varies depending on the needs of the organization to manage the development of standards. At this time, a single standards body, ASC OP, oversees all standards development activities. Detailed technical work and standards development are performed by a series of smaller task forces, which are convened when needed and disbanded when their work is complete. There are currently five active task forces within ASC OP.

TF1: Optical Glass (Inactive)

Establish uniform practices for stating and interpreting specifications, tolerances, and functional requirements for optical glass that is used to fabricate lenses and other optical elements such as prisms, windows, light pipes, etc, used in optical assemblies, systems, instruments, or other related uses.

TF2: Surface Imperfections

Establish uniform practices for stating, interpreting, and inspecting surface imperfections for transmissive and reflective optical elements and assemblies.

TF3: Wavefront Measurement (Inactive)

Establish uniform practices for defining, measuring, and analyzing surface and transmitted wavefronts for optical elements and assemblies.

TF4: Adoption of ISO 10110 as an American National Standard

Establish uniform practices for the format and notation of optical drawings based on the applicable parts of ISO 10110 and its associated standards.

TF6: Infrared Materials

Establish standards for properties of optical materials used in the infrared (IR) spectral region (nominally, wavelengths 0.7 – 20 microns).

TF7: Laser Applications

Establish standards for optical components and their test methods for laser applications.